Home

NEWS


Satisfaction survey among doctoral students starts on Thursday
27.03.2020

Foto: Nele TammeaidFrom 2 April to 4 May, all doctoral students of the UT are invited to share their opinion on their studies to help the university plan changes in doctoral studies. More information here.


Apply for position for junior fellow
26.03.2020


Fotograar: Nele TammeaidPositions for junior research fellows have been opened in the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Tartu, financed by the University of Tartu ASTRA project PER ASPERA. All third and fourth year doctoral students who are enrolled in the indicated PhD programmes of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities can apply for the positions. The aim of the measure is to support doctoral students in graduating within the standard period of study.

More information here.

COVID-19


The Estonian government declares state of emergency to fight coronavirus spread

  • Please note! The situation may change rapidly.  Please follow the university’s as well as official information channels! These instructions are amended continuously. The University of Tartu expects responsible conduct and compliance with all national guidelines in the state of emergency from all its academic organisations and students.
  • The state of emergency will last until May 1, 2020.
     
  • On 13 March University of Tartu suspended face-to face classes due to state of emergency.
    • Research and development will be conducted and support units will continue to work at the University of Tartu.
    • The university recommends all staff members to use distance working, if possible.
    • During the state of emergency the University of Tartu guarantees contractual salary to all employees.
    • Electronic solutions can be used to organise necessary meetings.
       
  • From Monday, 16 March, all University of Tartu buildings are closed for visitors and students.
     
  • Staff members and students who have arrived in Estonia from any foreign country after 12 March 2020 must stay home for two weeks from the moment of arrival in Estonia.
     
  • The university cancels all business trips abroad until 30 April 2020. New business trips abroad cannot be planned for travel until 30 April 2020.
     
  • The University of Tartu has decided to suspend all incoming and outgoing mobilities until 30th April 2020 or until further notice.
     
  • In case of questions and problems, we kindly ask that you contact the following persons in your institute or college. Due to the state of emergency, we are unable to offer student counselling in person. Please use electronic channels or call.

CONTACTS

Doctoral schools:
Lii Lang (mobility), +372 737 5346, lii.lang@ut.ee 
Merili Hansen (events), +372 737 6535, merili.hansen@ut.ee 


Institute of History and Archaeology

Students: Külli Kuusik, +372 737 5651, kulli.kuusik@ut.ee 
Staff: Valter Lang, +372 737 5652, valter.lang@ut.ee 


Institute of Estonian and General Linguistics

Students: Andrea Nagy, +372 737 5423, andrea.nagy@ut.ee or Ülle Niin, +372 737 5227, ylle.niin@ut.ee 
Staff: Tiia Margus, +372 737 5221, tiia.margus@ut.ee or Liina Lindström, +372 513 8446, liina.lindstrom@ut.ee  


Institute of Philosophy and Semiotics

Students and staff (Philosophy): Ruth Jürjo, +372 737 5314, ruth.jurjo@ut.ee 
Students and staff (Semiotics): Ulvi Urm, +372 737 5933, ulvi.urm@ut.ee


Institute of Cultural Research

Students: Please contact your Academic Affairs Specialist (https://www.ut.ee/et/kontakt/kultuuriteaduste-instituut)
Staff: Hille Roots, +372 737 5223, hille.roots@ut.ee or Art Leete, +372 737 6257, art.leete@ut.ee 


School of Theology and Religious Studies

Staff and PhD students: Kairi Ots, +372 737 5301, kairi.ots@ut.ee 
Students (BA ja MA): Kristel Põldma, +372 737 5300, kristel.poldma@ut.ee


College of Foreign Languages and Cultures

Students: Please contact your Academic Affairs Specialist (https://www.ut.ee/en/kontakt/maailma-keelte-kultuuride-kolledz)
Staff: Please contact your Academic Affairs Specialist (https://www.ut.ee/en/kontakt/maailma-keelte-kultuuride-kolledz)

Administrative affairs on general College level: Age Allas, +372 737 6255, age.allas@ut.ee 
General language training: Kätlin Luhamägi, +372 737 5357, katlin.luhamagi@ut.ee


Viljandi Culture Academy

Students: Please contact your Academic Affairs Specialist (https://www.ut.ee/en/kontakt/viljandi-kultuuriakadeemia)
Staff: Please contact your immediate supervisor (https://www.ut.ee/en/kontakt/viljandi-kultuuriakadeemia)


The Dean’s Office

All students:      
hv.dekanaat@ut.ee 
Maria Tamm, +372 737 5342, maria.tamm.001@ut.ee 
Liina Tojak, +372 737 5344, liina.tojak@ut.ee